Heritage Awards

The City of Maple Ridge Heritage Awards are given out each year by the Community Heritage Commission in recognition of special initiatives, accomplishments and projects that have advanced heritage conservation and awareness in our communityFor 2022, the Community Heritage Commission recognizes individuals, organizations, and sites, from either the private or public sector that have contributed to the heritage and/or history of Maple Ridge.  

This years winners are:

  • Maple Ridge Family History Group - History Hero Award
  • Kanaka Education and Environmental Partnership Society - Stewardship of a Community Cultural Asset Award
  • Holy Spirit Anglican Church - Historic Site Award
  • Andrea Lister - Sheila Nickols Award

Watch the video below to meet our winners!

To view the Family History Groups project " On the River: The Fishing Industry in Maple Ridge" click HERE.

How to Nominate

Nominees may be proposed for their long-term dedication to heritage, for a single effort that made a notable difference, for leadership and vision in educating the public, or for a project or action that had a positive outcome for built heritage in Maple Ridge. The categories for nominees are:

    • Heritage Site Award: Recognizes a well maintained and/or restored public and private building, site, or physical feature with historic value that is identified on the Heritage Inventory, Register or is Designated.

    • History Hero Award: Recognizes the achievements of an individual or group that have contributed to the recognition of Maple Ridge in its historical context.

    • Sheila Nickols Award: Recognizes an individual who has helped maintain Maple Ridge heritage through efforts in sharing historical facts and memories with others, or for work that preserves original historic documents or transfers information from such documents.

    • Stewardship of a Community Cultural Asset: Recognizes an individual or group who conserves a physical area, practices, expressions, knowledge and/or skills to advance the appreciation and understanding of a community cultural asset. 

    • Youth Heritage Award: Recognizes a young person and their contributions to the heritage conservation community. An example could be a project that was completed for school that highlights Maple Ridge’s heritage and/or history.


    If you have any questions about past Heritage Awards or how to nominate a person, organization, or place for 2022, please contact:
    Krista Gowan (Staff Liaison) by email or phone: 604-467-7304.

    Past Heritage Award Winners

    Previous Heritage Award Winners (PDF)

    To view the 2021 Heritage Award Video, click the image below.

    Heritage Awards Video